Top 3 Strangest Things About Alaska Living

A year and a half ago, I moved to the Kenai Peninsula of Alaska, to marry my sweet husband. Growing up, I’d visited nearly all of the 50 states, so I wasn’t sheltered on what the rest of the U.S. was like. Alaska though, was something different.

  • 1. Daylight

Everyone has questions about this, and it is definitely a strange one. It depends on the part of Alaska; but where Justin and I live, the shortest day is less than six hours long, which happens in mid December. However, in the summer, the longest day is over nineteen hours long. (Fun fact, even when the sun sets in the summer, visibility is still pretty good. It doesn’t get much darker than dusk).

  • 2. Fishing

Living on the Kenai Peninsula especially, but Alaska as a whole is all about fishing. In fact, more than half of the nation’s commercial fisheries are Alaskan-so I guess it makes sense. If you ask a local their weekend plans in the summer, 9/10 they’ll say fishing. Just trust me. Along that note, everyone also owns at least one pair of rubber boots, or most commonly-XTRATUF’S.

  • 3. Travel

The highest speed limit in Alaska is 65mph. In fact, Alaska’s highway interstate systems are very different from what any person from the lower 48 knows as a highway, (the state actually claims they don’t hold to the same standards). There’s only four of these “highways” in the state. Just picture your typical 55mph road with maybe some green highway signs, and you’re good to go. Also fun fact: the closest mall, and typical clothing store (unless you want to shop at the local Fred Meyer grocery store), from where I live is three hours away. Ha.

There’s so many more random things I could tell you, (they call it a “snow machine”, instead of a “snow mobile”), but I’ll spare you. Truly, I believe Alaska shouldn’t be considered a part of the United States. It feels as though its untouched from the rest of the world, its simply a different place.

Leave a comment